Night Owl by M.Pierce Review, playlist + Giveaway

Night Owl by M. Pierce
Published by Macmillan on 2014-07-01
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eBook
Goodreads

AmazonBarnes & Noble

At twenty-eight, Matt Sky has the perfect life. He has a beautiful girlfriend, a massive inheritance, and four national bestsellers — all penned under his airtight alias, M. Pierce.

At twenty-seven, Hannah Catalano has a train wreck. Her boyfriend is a deadbeat and her job is abysmal.

Matt and Hannah meet online as writing partners. Their relationship is safe, anonymous, and innocent…

Until Matt sees a picture of Hannah. Hannah’s picture sparks an attraction Matt is powerless to ignore. When circumstance brings Matt and Hannah together, the strangers begin a love story that’s passionate, poignant, unforgettable, and unstoppable.

Night Owl by M. Pierce follows the relationship of Matt and Hannah.  They come together in a most awkward way but the heat and chemistry between them is undeniable.   Fans of Gideon Cross and Christian Grey will be pleasantly surprised with this novel.

Matt and Hannah are co-authors on a book and it’s through this means that they come together.  I have to admit, I had my reservations about this but in the end proved to be a clever and unique way for two people to come together.   Believe me, the irony was not lost on me. Matt is a broken man with idiosyncrasies that would make me go nuts! Or piss me off at the very least.     At times Matt’s character was hard to digest.  Parts of his personality were insolent and brash, appearing inappropriately clingly and jealous.  However, as I read more of the story and learned a little about his background I was able to have a clearer understanding of him.  Hannah’s character was a perfect fit for him, where Matt is brazen Hannah is soft.  She’s understanding, forgiving and tolerant and provides a loving cushion for Matt as his walls crumble around him.

Again and again we went there together-tumbling over the raw edge, touching the live wire, collapsing, exploding, dissolving like dead stars.

With that being said, I felt there were parts of the novel that got lost in translation.  I was hoping for a more thorough and in-depth back story.   It was hard to reconcile the intensity of the characters and story without having enough background. While the characters were original the theme however, was more of the same for me.  It felt very C. Grey with Matt’s mercurial and lascivious nature.  Sadly, I could almost predict his reactions and the direction in which his moods would turn.

With the lascivious start to the mysterious end, I was left feeling confused. It felt like there was a big chunk of story missing from the last chapter to the epilogue. I believe the author intended to end the story and have the epilogue include some foreshadowing  however, due to the essence of finality in the last chapter, it just didn’t translate well for me.

Overall, Night Owl was a quick read and fans of Slyvia Day and E.L James will certainly enjoy getting to know Matt Sky.

 

EXCERPT

Matt had a sprawling, high-rise apartment in downtown Denver. I probably should have guessed. The rooms were clean and modern, harshly white, with light hardwood floors and gorgeous area rugs. The fixtures were all of matching brushed metal and the décor was spare but tasteful. I recognized a framed John Singer Sargent print on the wall.

Matt loomed as I padded through the neat, quiet rooms. Each time I smiled at him, I thought I caught a glimmer of anxiety in his expression. Why would he be nervous? Was my opinion really that important to him?

“This place is lovely,” I said. “It’s amazing. I can’t believe it was ever messy.”

“Oh, I had a maid come through,” he said.

“Laurence!” I squealed when I saw the rabbit’s hutch in the living room. The hutch was as swanky as Matt’s apartment, made of beautiful varnished wood with little gold knobs.

“Your lady love is back,” Matt said to the rabbit.

We watched Laurence hop around his hutch for a while. Matt’s hovering was making me uneasy—and strangely aroused. He hadn’t touched me yet, but I knew he planned to. I assumed his bedroom was down the hall.

Was something wrong? Tension and desire made my stomach clench.

We drifted into the kitchen, Matt right at my back.

“Nice.” I swallowed and brushed my hand over the granite countertop. Even the kitchen was immaculate.

I could feel Matt behind me. I thought I heard him take a soft breath. My skin prickled. God, if he didn’t touch me soon—

I exhaled in a rush as Matt brought his chest flush against my back. He pinned me to the edge of the island and cupped my breasts from behind. I moaned.

“Are you ready?” he whispered in my ear.

 GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

PLAYLIST

NIGHT OWL by M. Pierce on Grooveshark

About M. Pierce

M. Pierce is the bestselling author of Night Owl, book one in the erotic Night Owl Trilogy. The author lives in Colorado and owns a rabbit named Laurence.