How I Did the Lighting in My Reading Nook

Sooooo I finally built a reading nook. All by myself.

No, of course it’s not as fancy as all the beautiful nooks you see on Pinterest, though I did borrow some ideas from there for the design and decoration. (For the inspiration, I actually even searched through tips to make reading nooks for CHILDREN :P)

I forgot to take the “before and after” pics, but my balcony originally looked like the one in this picture below, only a little more narrow.

It was not as hard as I thought it would be. I actually spent only half a day on setting everything up, except the lighting.

I built it in a very small balcony in my apartment, half of which is occupied by an army of basils, cactuses, orchids, and Bougainvillea.

First, it’s the rearrangement of the plants for more space. Next, I hang on 2 small bamboo curtains for in case I might be home some hot afternoon and want to read when the sun is shining right on my balcony.

Then, I threw there an armchair with a blanket and some cushion on it, and behind it, a narrow but tall bookshelf. I filled it with as many books as I could, admittedly even with the ones I’ve already finished reading, just so it looks cool. Only one of the cells is left free of the books – it’s where I was going to leave my coffee mug.

Perfetto. Perfetto! – I thought.

Then went the sun and came the night and I realized I had no light to read at the time I read most often.

Night Owl by M.Pierce Review, playlist + Giveaway

Night Owl by M. Pierce
Published by Macmillan on 2014-07-01
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eBook
Goodreads

AmazonBarnes & Noble

At twenty-eight, Matt Sky has the perfect life. He has a beautiful girlfriend, a massive inheritance, and four national bestsellers — all penned under his airtight alias, M. Pierce.

At twenty-seven, Hannah Catalano has a train wreck. Her boyfriend is a deadbeat and her job is abysmal.

Matt and Hannah meet online as writing partners. Their relationship is safe, anonymous, and innocent…

Until Matt sees a picture of Hannah. Hannah’s picture sparks an attraction Matt is powerless to ignore. When circumstance brings Matt and Hannah together, the strangers begin a love story that’s passionate, poignant, unforgettable, and unstoppable.

Night Owl by M. Pierce follows the relationship of Matt and Hannah.  They come together in a most awkward way but the heat and chemistry between them is undeniable.   Fans of Gideon Cross and Christian Grey will be pleasantly surprised with this novel.

Matt and Hannah are co-authors on a book and it’s through this means that they come together.  I have to admit, I had my reservations about this but in the end proved to be a clever and unique way for two people to come together.   Believe me, the irony was not lost on me. Matt is a broken man with idiosyncrasies that would make me go nuts! Or piss me off at the very least.     At times Matt’s character was hard to digest.  Parts of his personality were insolent and brash, appearing inappropriately clingly and jealous.  However, as I read more of the story and learned a little about his background I was able to have a clearer understanding of him.  Hannah’s character was a perfect fit for him, where Matt is brazen Hannah is soft.  She’s understanding, forgiving and tolerant and provides a loving cushion for Matt as his walls crumble around him.

Cover Reveal for Maya Cross’s upcoming novel Grace for Drowning

Grace for Drowning by Maya CrossGrace for Drowning by Maya Cross
on June 29, 2014

Maya Cross is coming out with a new novel guys! I’m sooo excited beyond words to see what she has in store for us.  I absolutely loved The Alpha Group series.

Check out the blurb for her new novel:

This is a full length novel with no cliffhanger. There will be a sequel, but this book resolves all the story elements by the end. It is written with dual perspectives, so both Logan and Grace get their say.

Hope is a dangerous thing. I know that more than most. Everything good I’ve ever had has been stolen from me — my friends, my fiance, my innocence, some would say even my sanity. All I have left is the cage. Fighting is the only thing that eases the ache inside me even a little. It’s the only thing that keeps the bottle at bay.

I was content to ride out my life alone. I was done dreaming that things could be better. But then I met Grace, and suddenly, all I could do was dream.

She’s battling those same demons, only she’s losing. I don’t want to care, but something about her calls to me. That pain in her eyes is so sharp, so familiar. I know it’s only a matter of time before it pulls her below the surface.

I can help her, and maybe, just maybe, she can help me too. For the first time in what feels like forever, I’ve got hope, and that scares the hell out of me.

Release Day Blitz: Four Score LiLi St. Germain + Giveaway

Four Score Banner

Title: Four Score (Gypsy Brothers,#4)

Author: Lili St. Germain

Release Date: May 26, 2014

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

 

Synopsis

Love and hate aren’t all that different.

Two sides of the same coin, the yin and the yang.

Once upon a time, Jason Ross loved me. And now that he knows what I’ve done, I see the love and the hate warring within him.

I see the way he looks at me.

The way he wonders how I could do the things I’ve done.

I hear it in the way he begs me to stop, to leave this life and run away with him.

But there’s only one way I’m leaving LA.

And that’ll be when Dornan and the rest of his sons are dead and buried.

Jase might forgive me for what I’ve done.

But will he forgive me for the crimes I’m yet to commit?

Goodreads Shelf Tour: No In Between by Lisa Renee Jones

Goodreads Shelf Tour: No In Between by Lisa Renee Jones

Goodreads Shelf Tour: No In Between by Lisa Renee JonesNo In Between Series: Inside Out #4
by Lisa Renee Jones
Published by Gallery Books on August 19, 2014
Genres: Erotica, Love & Romance, Romance
Pages: 256
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble

The fourth in the Inside Out erotic romance series by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones, this steamy novel resolves Chris and Sarah’s relationship and leads into Mark’s story.

“Chris and I have faced our demons and bared our souls to one another in Paris. Now that we are back home in San Francisco, I want to believe that nothing can tear us apart. Not Ava’s accusations against me to the police, or Chris’s fear that he will destroy me as he feels he did Amber. And not Mark, who was once too intimately a part of our lives, and who I can see crumbling inside out. He believes he is invincible, just as I want to believe Chris and I are invincible. We have to be invincible. We need each other too much for any other ending.”

We’re gearing up for the release of Lisa Renee Jones upcoming book in her Inside Out series with a Goodreads Shelf Tour! As an incentive for adding this book to your GR Shelf, you will be entered to win a $25 Giftcard.  Just click on the button below and easy peasy! Leave me a link in the comments with your GR shelf.  Good luck!

Cover Reveal: Facing The Music by Andrea Laurence Excerpt + Giveaway

Facing The Music by Andrea LaurenceFacing The Music by Andrea Laurence
Published by Pocket Star on September 15, 2014
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Fiction, Friendship, Love & Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters”; hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.